Self Image

Picture15What do you see when you look in the mirror? A mole, scar or blemish? To big or to small? Does that thing you’re self conscious about keep you from doing things you want to do…like get a massage?

Let them go.

You are lovely…exactly how you are. And, in my experience, many times you’re the only one they bother. Unless you were to point them out, most of the world wouldn’t even notice.

I’m a 5’2″ woman. I was 98 pounds at 20 years old. Then I got pregnant and gained 60 POUNDS during my pregnancy. Needless to say…some stretching occurred. Not on my tummy, but I swear it got all the skin it needed to expand from my butt. I had a complex about it for years until I met my now boyfriend. He’s a wonderful man who tells me I’m beautiful, and lovingly called them my “Mama-Marks” with a grin on his face. He said the most obvious thing ever, but it totally changed my perspective…”Well of course you got stretchmarks, but I don’t even see them until you complain about them.” It was a “DUH” moment for me. I tell my clients that all the time! Why am I letting these genetic inevitabilities bother me?? And that was that. Yes, I still make sure my butt is covered when I wear a swim suit; but that’s simply because I don’t believe a 32 year old mom of a hormonal 12 year old boy belongs in a teeny-bikini. It’s a maturity thing, not a self-conscious thing.

In regards to massage: I can’t speak for other professions, but I can say that in general the massage community is a wonderful and accepting bunch. We’ve seen hairy & moley, round & boney…and a professional will not notice unless it’s medically necessary for us to do so. I promise you, we see a body in need of repair. That’s it. We simply see what we need to work on, and work on it. No judging eyes here.

In the words of Dr. Seuss “Those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.” Love you…and when someone gives you a compliment, accept it with an open and grateful heart.

-Jennifer Parker, Body Harmony Massage

2 responses to “Self Image

  1. I feel that is among the most important info for me.
    And i’m satisfied studying your article. However wanna remark on some common things, The website style is ideal,
    the articles is in point of fact nice : D. Excellent task,
    cheers

Tell us what you think

